Skip to main content

African-American Film Critics Association: Best Screenplay Ava DuVernay 'Middle of Nowhere'

Publish date:


Ava DuVernay's “Middle of Nowhere” Leads Honorees with Four Awards

Los Angeles, CA (December 16, 2012) – The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has named Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty as the Best Picture of 2012. The AAFCA consists of leading African-American media professionals from across the nation.

“The selections made this year reflect the refreshing abundance of both studio and independent work that provided a stellar array of roles for both veteran actors and new faces in front of and behind the camera,” says Gil Robertson IV, AAFCA, President and Founder.

Ben Affleck won Best Director 2012 Award for his film Argo. Best Actor 2012 winner is Denzel Washington for Flight, alongside Emayatzy Corinealdi who earned Best Actress 2012 for Middle of Nowhere. Best Supporting Actress and Actor 2012, respectfully, are Sally Field for her role inLincoln and Nate Parker for his performance in Arbitrage. Ava DuVernay's Middle of Nowhere was voted Best Screenplay, with the film also honored as Best Independent Film. France's entry The Intouchables was named Best Foreign Film with newcomer Quvenzhané Wallis awarded Best Breakout Performance for Beasts of the Southern Wild.

Ava DuVernay's Middle of Nowhere script can be downloaded on Script Mag.

“The film industry has done a great job of investing in real stories that reflect the resiliency of the human spirit and we are thrilled to commend our favorites this year,” says AAFCA’s East Coast V.P. Daryle Lockhart, owner of Black Box

The African-American Film Critics Association’s Top Ten Films of 2012 are as follows in order of distinction:

  1. Zero Dark Thirty
  2. Argo
  3. Lincoln
  4. Middle of Nowhere
  5. Life of Pi
  6. Les Miserables
  7.  Django Unchained
  8. Beast of the Southern Wild
  9. Moonrise Kingdom
  10. Think Like a Man

Best Actor: Denzel Washington, “Flight” (Paramount)

Best Actress: Emayatzy Corinealdi, “Middle of Nowhere” (AFFRM)

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field, “Lincoln” (Touchstone)

Best Supporting Actor: Nate Parker, “Arbitrage” (Roadside Attractions)

Best Foreign Film: Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano, “The Intouchables” (Weinstein Company)

Breakout Performance: Quvenzhané Wallis for “Beast of the Southern Wild” (Fox Searchlight)

Best Director: Ben Affleck, “Argo” (Warner)

Best Screenplay: Ava DuVernay, “Middle of Nowhere”(AFFRM)

Best Music: Kathryn Bostic & Morgan Rhodes, “Middle of Nowhere” (AFFRM)

Best Independent Film: “Middle of Nowhere” (AFFRM)

Best Animation: “Rise of the Guardians,” (Paramount)

Best Documentary (tie): “The House I Live In” (Charlotte Street Films) & “Versailles ’73” (Coffee Bluff Pictures)

The AAFC will formally present this year’s awards during a private ceremony on Friday, February 8, 2012 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA.


The African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) is the premiere organization of African American film media professionals. Founded in 2003, AAFCA’s members represent a geographically diverse cross-section of media covering the cinematic arts. The organization honors excellence in cinema by creating awareness for films with universal appeal to black communities, while emphasizing film about the black experience and those produced written, directed and starring performers of African descent. The association actively reviews the quality and standard of black talent, content and media coverage. AAFCA also supports the development of future black film critics and filmmakers. AAFCA is based in Los Angeles.