Skip to main content

UCLA to Honor John Logan and Dustin Lance Black at 2012 Screenwriters Showcase

University of California, Los Angeles (5/18/12) - UCLA’s School of Theater, Film, and Television will honor top industry screenwriters John Logan and Dustin Lance Black at its 2012 Screenwriters Showcase, to be held June 11th at 7:30 p.m. at the WGA Theater in Los Angeles.

JohnLogan will be honored with the Excellence in Screenwriting Award for a remarkable career that includes work on such films as Any Given Sunday, The Aviator, Gladiator, Hugo, Rango and the upcoming James Bond sequel, Skyfall. Acclaimed filmmaker Michael Mann will be on hand to present Logan with the award.

The school will also honor UCLA alumnus Dustin Lance Black with its prestigious 2012-2013 Hunter-Zakin Chair in Screenwriting. Black’s credits include TV’s “Big Love,” J. Edgar and his Oscar-winning screenplay for Milk.

The Screenwriters Showcase is UCLA’s annual competition featuring MFA Screenwriting student screenplays and teleplays, voted on by a jury of over 200 respected industry professionals. This year’s feature film winners are Kurtis Estes (“Jumping Ship”), Paul Bertino (“Please Don’t Feed the Children”), Tamara Carter (“Sins of the Father”), Devin Fearn (“Wendigo”) and Michael Brettler (“Vinegar Hill”). Film finalists are Harrison Pierce (“That’s So ’80s”), Spencer Ballou (“Caged”), Ang Olschewski (“Date This, Not That”), Ben Kopit (“Constantinople”) and Ben Frahm (“Ticking Clock”).

TV winners are Jim McDermott (“After Life”), Janis Robertson (“Orion”) and Maggie Malone (“Paradise”). TV finalists are Justine Prado (“Someone’s Daughter”), Neville Kiser (“Dead Run”) and Jackie Vleck (“Code Adam”).

The event is open to the public and will include staged readings of the winning scripts, along with presentations from faculty and prominent alumni. For more information, please visit